Founded in 1973, the International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes, IAGP is a worldwide network of professionals involved in the development of group psychotherapy and group processes, in the areas of theory, clinical practice, training, education research and consultancy.

The International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes (IAGP) is a network of professionals involved in the development of group psychotherapy and group processes in the areas of theory, clinical practice, training, education, research and consultancy. Our network provides opportunities for meeting the others: professions, theories and cultures – who are exploring the applications of small, median and large group processes in clinical, organizational and political settings. These meetings have great potential for furthering international cooperation on training, research, clinical work and consultancy in a multicultural society. On 12th August, 2003, the IAGP was incorporated in Switzerland, and on 10th October, 2003, it was granted the status of a Swiss tax-exempt charity (Reg. no. 409/2003).

In June 2006, the members voted to change the name of the IAGP from ‘The International Association of Group Psychotherapy’ to ‘The International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes.’ This was done to reflect the expansion of our members’ interests. Despite the name change, the acronym ‘IAGP’ will remain the same.

In addition to acting as an umbrella for its own affiliate organisations and running events with organisational partners throughout the world, the IAGP is seeking to further its mission through cooperation with  carefully selected international umbrella organisations. 

Who we are

IAGP is a truly international and global organization.  Our affiliate organizations and individual members are group psychotherapists and group processors from many different theoretical orientations from around the world. Following the recent election for Governance 2022-2025, the following people are now serving on the Board (including the Executive Management Group) and the Ethics and Professional Standards Committee 

PRESIDENT: Heloisa Fleury (Brazil)
VICE PRESIDENT:Cristina Martinez Taboada Kutz (Spain) vicepresident@iagp.com
TREASURER: Bruno Chevolet (Belgium) treasurer@iagp.com
SECRETARY: Revaz Korinteli (Georgia) secretary@iagp.com
SENIOR EXECUTIVE MEMBER: Dena Baumgartner (USA) sem@iagp.com
YOUNG PROFESSIONALS EXECUTIVE MEMBER: Nilüfer Demirhan (Türkiye) ypschair@iagp.com

CHAIR, ANALYTIC GROUP SECTION:  Alessio Sangiuliano (Italy) analyticgroupchair@iagp.com
CHAIR, FAMILY THERAPY SECTION: Luca Riccardi (Italy) familytherapychair@iagp.com 
CHAIR, ORGANISATIONAL CONSULTANCY SECTION: Simon McLellan (New Zealand)  ocschair@iagp.com
CHAIR, PSYCHODRAMA SECTION: Jacob Gershoni (USA) psychodramachair@iagp.com
CHAIR, TRANSCULTURAL SECTION: Marcia Honig (Israel) transculturalchair@iagp.com
CHAIR, YOUNG PROFESSIONALS SECTION:   Nilüfer Demirhan (Türkiyeypschair@iagp.com

CHAIR, CAOA:  Magdalene Jeyarathnam (India) caoachair@iagp.com

Deniz Altinay (Türkiye)
Goran Arbanas (Croatia)
Caner Bingöl (Türkiye)
Chung Ying Chen (Taiwan)
Maria Inễs Gandolfo Conceiҫẫo (Brazil)
Maurizio Gasseau (Italy) 
Anastasia Golema (Greece)
Stylianos Lagarakis (Greece)
Kostas Liolios (Greece) 
Ekaterina Lopukhina (Russia)
Anne McEneaney (USA)
Abdelrahman Mohsin (Egypt)
Adriana Piterbarg (Argentina)
Andreas von Wallenberg Pachaly (Germany)

ETHICS AND PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE (not part of the Board of Directors) ethics@iagp.com
and Galabina Tarashoeva (Bulgaria) 

Samuel B. Hadden M.D. (USA): 1973-1977
Raymond Battegay, M.D. (Switzerland): 1977-1980
Malcolm Pines, M.D. (UK): 1980-1984
Jay W. Fidler, M.D. (USA): 1984-1986
Grete Leutz, M.D. (Germany): 1986-1989
Fern Cramer Azima, Ph.D. (Canada):1989-1992
Alberto C. Serrano, M.D. (USA): 1992-1995
Earl Hopper, Ph.D. (UK): 1995-1998
Roberto de Inocencio, M.D. (Spain): 1998-2000
Sabar Rustomjee, FRANZCP (Australia): 2000-2003
Christer Sandahl, Ph.D. (Sweden): 2003-2006
Frances Bonds-White, Ed.D. (USA): 2006-2009
Jorge Burmeister, M.D. (Switzerland/Spain): 2009-2012
David Gutmann D.E.S. (France): 2012-2015
Kate Bradshaw Tauvon, T.E.P (Sweden): 2015-2018
Richard Beck (USA): 2018-2022

IAGP is dedicated to the inspirational thinking and action of
JL Moreno, MD (USA)
and SH Foulkes, MD (UK)

This website or its third-party tools process personal data (e.g. browsing data or IP addresses) and use cookies or other identifiers, which are necessary for its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. You accept the use of cookies or other identifiers by closing or dismissing this notice.