About Us

Founded in 1973, the International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes, IAGP is a worldwide network of professionals involved in the development of group psychotherapy and group processes, in the areas of theory, clinical practice, training, education research and consultancy.

IAGP’s By-Laws (approved on May 2022) can be found here.

On this page, you can read about the IAGP and its officers

IAGP Board of Directors and Officers, 2018-2021

The International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes (IAGP) is a network of professionals involved in the development of group psychotherapy and group processes in the areas of theory, clinical practice, training, education, research and consultancy. Our network provides opportunities for meeting the others: professions, theories and cultures – who are exploring the applications of small, median and large group processes in clinical, organizational and political settings. These meetings have great potential for furthering international cooperation on training, research, clinical work and consultancy in a multicultural society. On 12th August, 2003, the IAGP was incorporated in Switzerland, and on 10th October, 2003, it was granted the status of a Swiss tax-exempt charity (Reg. no. 409/2003).

In June 2006, the members voted to change the name of the IAGP from ‘The International Association of Group Psychotherapy’ to ‘The International Association for Group Psychotherapy and Group Processes.’ This was done to reflect the expansion of our members’ interests. Despite the name change, the acronym ‘IAGP’ will remain the same.

In addition to acting as an umbrella for its own affiliate organisations and running events with organisational partners throughout the world, the IAGP is seeking to further its mission through cooperation with the Word Psychiatric Association (WPA) and other carefully selected international umbrella organisations. Further details here.

Who we are

IAGP is a truly international and global organization. Following the recent election for Governance 2018-2021, the following people are serving on the Board (including the Executive Management Group) and the Ethics and Professional Standards Committee for the next term (2018-2021). They come from 22 countries! Our affiliate organizations and individual members are group psychotherapists and group processors from many different theoretical orientations from around the world.

The following is a list of our officers for the 2018-2021 term.

PRESIDENT: Richard Beck (U.S.A.) 
VICE PRESIDENT: Catherine Mela (Greece) vicepresident@iagp.com
TREASURER: Heloisa Fleury (Brazil) treasurer@iagp.com
SECRETARY: Maite Pi (Spain) secretary@iagp.com
SENIOR EXECUTIVE MEMBER: Maria van Noort (The Netherlands) sem@iagp.com
YOUNG PROFESSIONALS EXECUTIVE MEMBER: Asmaa Abd El Fattah (Egypt) ypschair@iagp.com

CHAIR, ANALYTIC GROUP SECTION: Anne Lindhardt (Denmark) analyticgroupchair@iagp.com
CHAIR, FAMILY THERAPY SECTION: Domenico Agresta (Italy) familytherapychair@iagp.com
CHAIR, ORGANISATIONAL CONSULTANCY SECTION: Bruno Chevolet (Belgium) ocschair@iagp.com
CHAIR, PSYCHODRAMA SECTION: Hatice Nevzat Muhtar (Turkey) psychodramachair@iagp.com
CHAIR, TRANSCULTURAL SECTION: Marcia Honig (Israel) transculturalchair@iagp.com
CHAIR, TRAUMA AND DISASTER INTERVENTION TEAM: Eva Fahlström Borg (Sweden) disasteroutreach@iagp.com
CHAIR, TRAUMA AND DISASTER TASK FORCE: Caner Bingol (Turkey) traumadisasterchair@iagp.com
CHAIR, YOUNG PROFESSIONALS SECTION: Asmaa Abd El Fattah (Egypt) ypschair@iagp.com

CHAIR, CAOA: Mona Rakhawy (Egypt) caoachair@iagp.com

Marcia Almeida Batista (Brazil)
Eva Fahlstrom Borg (Sweden)
Chung Ying Chen (Taiwan)
Maurizio Gasseau (Italy)
Jacob Gershoni (U.S.A.)
Ray Haddock (United Kingdom)
Camino Urrutia Imtrizaldu (Spain)
Thor Kristian Island (Norway)
Magdalene Jeyarathnam (India)
Jun Maeda (Japan)
Marco Longo (Italy)
Ekaterina Michailova (Russia)
Roberta Mineo (Italy)
Kaoru Nishimura (Japan)
Luis Palacios Araus (Spain)
Galabina Petrova Tarashoeva (Bulgaria)
Marianne Wiktorin (Sweden)
Gerda Winther (Denmark)
Xu Yong (China)
Revaz Korinteli (Georgia)

ETHICS AND PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE (Not part of the Board of Directors) ethics@iagp.com
Isil Bulut (Turkey) and Pablo Godoy Castanho (Brazil)

Samuel B. Hadden M.D. (USA): 1973-1977
Raymond Battegay, M.D. (Switzerland): 1977-1980
Malcolm Pines, M.D. (UK): 1980-1984
Jay W. Fidler, M.D. (USA): 1984-1986
Grete Leutz, M.D. (Germany): 1986-1989
Fern Cramer Azima, Ph.D. (Canada):1989-1992
Alberto C. Serrano, M.D. (USA): 1992-1995
Earl Hopper, Ph.D. (UK): 1995-1998
Roberto de Inocencio, M.D. (Spain): 1998-2000
Sabar Rustomjee, FRANZCP (Australia): 2000-2003
Christer Sandahl, Ph.D. (Sweden): 2003-2006
Frances Bonds-White, Ed.D. (USA): 2006-2009
Jorge Burmeister, M.D. (Switzerland/Spain): 2009-2012
David Gutmann D.E.S. (France): 2012-2015
Kate Bradshaw Tauvon, T.E.P (Sweden): 2015-2018

IAGP is dedicated to the inspirational thinking and action of
JL Moreno, MD (USA)
and SH Foulkes, MD (UK)

This website or its third-party tools process personal data (e.g. browsing data or IP addresses) and use cookies or other identifiers, which are necessary for its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. You accept the use of cookies or other identifiers by closing or dismissing this notice.